
Credit: Heritage Resources, Saint John
Church Communities
This site was the original home of three distinct church communities. Built prior to 1839, the first church on this corner was known as the Second Calvinist Baptist Church. It became Saint John’s first Irish Free Presbyterian Church in 1843 when the city’s Irish Presbyterian population left the largely Scottish St. Andrew’s congregation. The Irish Presbyterian community was then served by Rev. Robert Irvine after his arrival from Ballynahinch, Ireland in 1844.
St. John Presbyterian Church at the corner of Carmarthen Street and King Street East, circa 1890. The steeple of the Cathedral of Immaculate Conception on Waterloo Street is visible in the background.
Credit: Heritage Resources, Saint John

Credit: Heritage Resources, Saint John
Supporting Youth Groups
The church’s gymnasium and auditorium were home to a number of youth groups in the late 1800s and early 1900s, including the church-sponsored No. 1 Company, Boys Brigade – the first in Canada and an important precursor to the global scouting movement.
In 1917 this church amalgamated with the St. Stephen’s Church to become the Church of St. John and St. Stephen’s on City Road. This allowed the building to be repurposed.
St. John Presbyterian Church, like many churches in the city, had active Cub and Scout troops. This is the St. Mary’s Church group a few blocks away on Waterloo Street, circa 1935.
Credit: Heritage Resources, Saint John

Credit: Heritage Resources, Saint John
Young Women’s Christian Association
In 1870 the first Canadian branch of the Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA) was organized in Saint John by Agnes Blizzard and headquartered in the Church. The YWCA provided various programs and services such as accommodation, education, job training and recreational activities. The movement grew rapidly as young, unmarried women began moving to cities for employment, especially in factories. By the early 1930s, the YWCA was the sole occupant of the church and next-door manse, taking full advantage of the gymnasium, auditorium and library within.
Young members of the YWCA taking advantage of the library, 111 King Street East, c. 1930.
Credit: Heritage Resources, Saint John

Credit: Heritage Resources, Saint John
Saint John Afro Community Church of Canada
In 1938, the church became the Saint John Afro Community Church of Canada, under the leadership of Reverend Dr. Cecil A. Stewart. His brother, Rev. Claude A. Stewart, had pastored the St. Philips A.M.E. Church in the south end for five years. The Afro Community Church held fundraising raffles and concerts until the church closed in 1939.
The building was demolished in 1941.
Saint John Afro Community Church of Canada, 1939.
Credit: Heritage Resources, Saint John